There are cases where you need to clear InDesign preferences so InDesign will recognize changes to extensions.


To do this, you will hold down ctrl+alt+cmd+shift (Mac) or ctrl+alt+shift (Win) immediately after launching InDesign. If you got the timing right, you'll see a dialog pop up asking if you want to clear preferences, as shown below.